Reckless Love

Not one of my poems this time, but rather the lyrics to a song which literally stopped me in my tracks when I first heard it at our mid-week small group.

It was during a time of worship at the end of the meeting that I first heard this via a You Tube clip. Rather than try and pick up the lyrics and sing along all I could do was listen and drink in what the lyrics were saying. There are times (not many I admit) when a worship song so arrests my attention that I cannot sing. I just have to listen.

However that was not it. Over the coming days and weeks I just cannot get these lyrics out of my mind. Almost every time I listen to it I have to stop what I’m doing.

So here are the lyrics that impacted me so much. The song comes from Bethel Church in Redding California. It was written by Cory Asbury, Caleb Culver and Ran Jackson. In the version I heard it was sung by Steffany Gretzinger.

Before I spoke a word, You were singing over me.
You have been so, so good to me.
Before I took a breath, You breathed Your life in me.
You have been so, so kind to me.

Oh the overwhelming, never ending, reckless love of God!
Oh, it chases me down, fights ’till I’m found, leaves the ninety nine.
I couldn’t earn it, I don’t deserve it; Still, You give yourself away.
Oh the overwhelming, never ending, reckless love of God!

When I was Your foe, still Your love fought for me.
You have been so, so good to me.
When I felt no worth, You paid it all for me.
You have been so, so kind to me.

Oh the overwhelming, never ending, reckless love of God!
Oh, it chases me down, fights ’till I’m found, leaves the ninety nine.
I couldn’t earn it, I don’t deserve it; Still, You give yourself away.
Oh the overwhelming, never ending, reckless love of God!

There’s no shadow You won’t light up,
mountain You won’t climb up, coming after me.
There’s no wall You won’t kick down,
lie You won’t tear down, coming after me.

Oh the overwhelming, never ending, reckless love of God!
Oh, it chases me down, fights ’till I’m found, leaves the ninety nine.
I couldn’t earn it, I don’t deserve it; Still, You give yourself away.
Oh the overwhelming, never ending, reckless love of God!

You never stop coming, you never stop running.
Where else could we go? Because you are there already anyway.

What this brought home to me was just how much God instigated bringing me back to himself. He was not content to let me go but pursued me. There was and is nothing he will not do to restore that relationship. I cannot buy this relationship. I certainly don’t deserve it, God has done it all.

I usually try and come up with a suitable picture to go with my Posts. However, in this case I simply cannot think of any that would do this song justice.

Here is the video so you can hear it for yourself. Be warned, you too may just have to stop what you are doing.

Leave a Reply

