Sorry for the “Radio Silence”

I have to apologise.

I realise that it’s been months since I last posted anything – sorry.

I could come up with a list of good/reasonable excuses but, to be honest, I’ve been struggling to find the right balance between uploading my back catalogue, writing new poems and being a good husband and father.

Unfortunately I’m a bit of a “Night Owl”. That is, when I come home from work I have a bit of an energy dip until around 9pm when I usually get my “second wind” which can easily take me through to the small hours of the morning. Unfortunately this is somewhat incompatible with having to get up at 6:00am to get ready to go to work and spending time with my long suffering wife. She (quite rightly) pointed out that she was getting a bit fed up with going to bed on her own and waking gone midnight to find me still not in bed.

I also became aware that I was getting a bit too worried about “page views” and “likes”. These were starting to affect my a day a bit. If I had plenty of page views then I started the day off in a good frame of mind. If I had none then the day started in not so good a frame of mind.

I realise that this is unhealthy so I’ve made a concious effort to NOT look at my blog stats. In any case this blog is not about me but a mechanism to share the poems that God has prompted me to write in the hope and expectation that he will speak to others through them and/or others will find them helpful.

Yesterday I was at a Church meeting where I was challenged to get writing again. One of the verse mentioned was where Paul describes that he only passes on to the Churches what has has first received from God. The preacher likened this to “inhaling”. Rather than grow “fat” by only receiving from God, we should be quick to share what we’ve been given to “exhale”. God imparts things to his children so that his body, the Church, should be built up.

So for 2017 I’m going to set aside an evening a week to keep on top of this blog and to try blogging/writing straight from my tablet (let’s see how well that works!)

I’ve got 3 poems “in progress” so look out for those coming soon plus the rest of my back catalogue.

Once I’ve finished uploading my current back catalogue it will be time for me to search in my loft/attic for any old notebooks that have not been transcribed yet.

Thanks for all your “likes” in 2016 – it is a great encouragement to keep on writing.

I wish you and all those you care for a very blessed 2017 – blessing in the good times and the challenging times.

Icarus

Leave a Reply

